106027003023129319

There’s a lot of Morrissey going around at the moment. Somehow I missed Morrisey, even though I was exactly the right age at the time. Probably a bit too baggy for my own good. But I’ve been listening to a lot of Gene this week, and one of the things that Martin Rossiter and Mozza do have in common is the ability to play with male sexuality. Speaking as a heterosexual man, one of the things I’ve always found most thrilling about Rossiter’s lyrics is the (to my ears at least) homosexual innuendo running through them. The typically-masculine imagery (fighting, cars, prison) is made damned sexy, and thus subversive.

And actually, I think Loaded was a very different beast around its inception (didn’t Morrissey appear on the cover at some point?). It was capable of wit, and some fine writing; then it became a poor man’s FHM (yeesh!).

Leave a Reply

