Book meme

I’m going to steal this from Jonathan, if only because I was coming up with my own answers simultaneously with reading his post.

So:

1. One book that changed my life: John Cage: Silence. The most memorable reading experience of my formative Master’s year. In some small way I now process pretty much all my musical/aesthetic/life experiences through this book.

2. One book that I have read more than once: Julio Cortázar: Hopscotch. Although both times were different🙂

3. One book I would want on a deserted island: Jorge Luis Borges: Collected Fictions

4. One book that made me laugh: As Jonathan points out, Catch 22 is the cliché choice. But Wodehouse or Pratchett are the reliable ones.

5. One book that made me cry: Actually, this time Catch 22 is the correct answer.

6. One book I wish I’d written: Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone.

7. One book I wish had never been written: Is Mein Kampf too obvious?

8. One book I am currently reading: The Hungarian Who Walked to Heaven by Edward Fox. Short book about the man who walked from Hungary to Tibet, spent 16 months freezing in a tiny cell in a Himalayan monastery, and founded Tibetan studies.

9. One book I have been meaning to read: Top of the pile is Question and Answer by Hans Robert Jauss.

Leave a Reply

