Conference concerns

I was up in Glasgow this weekend for a joint RMA/BASEES study day, at which I presented a paper entitled ‘The Reception of Contemporary Polish Music in 1960s Great Britain’. This was a minor milestone in that it was the first time something that I consider a more-or-less finished part of my thesis has crept out into the public eye.

And like so many of my papers in the past it was met with just one question, then silence. I’m never sure if this means that I’ve successfully tied up all the loose ends in my presentation, so no one can find a gap to pick at, or whether I’ve failed to inspire anyone to think of anything at all. And I’m not sure which I’d prefer; as long as no one boos, I guess I can press on…
Coincidentally, another minor milestone – this was the first time, after three and a half years, that I’ve referred to this blog in my biography. So, hi! if you’ve just come here from that direction!

Leave a Reply

