Links for the week

From an article in the Charleston Daily Mail:

At Contemporary-classical.com, Adrian Koren plays music that most folks don’t want to hear. But for those who relish exploring the classical works of the past century, Koren’s Web radio station is a godsend.

For just the $300 a year he pays Live365.com for bandwidth and music licensing, the Massachusetts software developer can share his beloved music with people around the world.

For more than three years, Koren has led listeners — a few dozen at a time — to new discoveries, a process repeated tens of thousands of times on Web stations based in bedrooms, basements and attics. But a new ruling from the U.S. Copyright Royalty Board — an arm of the Library of Congress charged with determining how much radio stations must pay artists and record labels for songs they play — threatens to silence many, and perhaps most, webcasters.

Pocket conclusion: Copyright fanatics are killing contemporary classical music.

William Houston gets carried away, perhaps?

Although I have decided to at least temporarily continue to make my music available, I am entirely finished with the music establishment. No mainstream American music institution will be permitted to perform my work (Not that there’s much chance of it anyway). Why? Because it’s a rigged game and because it’s run by the elite; the same people who profit from dead Iraqi women and children. Some of the same people who stage terror attacks. Am I saying that, for instance, Esa-Pekka Solonen is a terrorist? No, but I am saying he works for terrorists, among others. I don’t want that job.

(via)

Belinda Reynolds at NewMusicBox:

Perhaps it is time to take matters into our own hands and create something like match.com for facilitating the creation and playing of new music by young players.

Y’all have heard of myspace, right?

The RIAA is now offering extremely dodgy sounding ‘settlement’ deals to students not actually accused of any infringements yet. Ripley has more.

Glenn Branca offers up his vision of the 2007-08 season for the NY Phil. A highlight of this mouthwatering fantasy:

Wed. 24, Thurs. 25, Sat. 27
DUMITRESCU Au Dela de Movemur
SCELSI Vaxuctum
DUMITRESCU Syllogismes
XENAKIS Jonchaies
FELDMAN Turfan Fragments

And… wishlisted.

One thought on “Links for the week

  1. I’d like to put a good word in for Contemporary-Classical.com, as I listen to it all the time at work. While Mr. Koren has a habit that drives me nuts –he’ll play a bunch of 3-5 minute pieces in a row– overall, I love his station.

    He has a sense of humor, I think. One day he played Reich’s ghastly, fingernails-on-chalkboard *shudder* Violin Phase *shudder* and immediately followed it with a dense, echt-serialist piece by Charles Wuorinen. Oh how I laughed. About a week later, he played another ghastly Reich piece and *again* followed it with some Wuorinen. Oh how I laughed again.

    Am I saying that, for instance, Esa-Pekka Solonen is a terrorist? No, but I am saying he works for terrorists, among others

    Um, the board of the Los Angeles Philharmonic and of the Philharmonia are terrorists? Quick, alert the Los Angeles Times, that should be on the front page! He records for DG, they’re terrorists? LA Phil concerts are released on iTunes, Apple are terrorists. etc. etc.

    I mean, if I wanted to be pedantic, my dad worked in the aerospace industry until he retired in 1992, so since I benefited from him working on the Cruise and Peacekeeper missle projects by accepting his food, lodging and money for records, I guess I’m partially responsible for the dismemberment of children in Central America.

    Or by watching shows on NBC, owned by GE, who have defense industry ties, I’m aiding and abetting the American military industrial complex. That must be it!

    Or William Houston is an idiot.

Leave a Reply

