Thinking Blogs

https://i0.wp.com/img201.imageshack.us/img201/421/thinkingblogger2ql6.jpg

So, in amongst everything else, I got tagged by Dial “M” as a ‘Thinking blog’. (Guess this means I should do some thinking at some point and write about it, eh?) I iz teh chuffed, as the cool kids don’t say anymore.

Here are the rules, then:

1. If, and only if, you get tagged, write a post with links to 5 blogs that make you think, 2. Link to this post so that people can easily find the exact origin of the meme, 3. Optional: Proudly display the ‘Thinking Blogger Award’ with a link to the post that you wrote.

I take it the intention goes beyond makes me think “I wish I could write like you”, so here are my 5; naturally there could be more than this, but the rules say 5, and they seem kinda strict😉

  1. Renewable Music. Composer blogs have mushroomed in the last year or two to the extent that I no longer keep up as well as I might, but Daniel Wolf’s is one that I’m glad to have caught onto, and is consistently provocative and interesting (and mercifully free of ‘what-I-ate-while-composing-today’-type posts).
  2. Wayne and Wax. Wayne doesn’t get enough props around this corner of the music/academic blogosphere. His area of study (ethno/Jamaican diaspora, etc) doesn’t overlap that much with mine, but his lavishly illustrated, engaging and insightful posts are always worth a read, and should be a model for us all.
  3. Owen Hatherley’s modern architecture blog The Measures Taken is one of those sites you occasionally come across and wish that someone had come up with a version of the internet that you could retire to the sofa with for an afternoon. Owen’s posts are always essay-length, provocative and thoroughly illustrated, and although I rarely have a chance to give them the time they really deserve, his enthusiasm for some of the more despised corners of British and European architectural style is infectious. I have no idea if Owen’s writing a book off the back of all this, but he should be. More bite-size stuff (but no less though-provoking) is to be found at Sit Down Man, You’re a Bloody Tragedy.
  4. A counter-example: Stormin’ Norman Lebrecht is everybody’s favourite bugbear (one of mine, too), but his Slipped Disc blog – infuriating as it so often is – is always worth a read when your critical chops need a little light exercise.
  5. Finally, perhaps an obvious one, but a goodie – Kyle Gann’s Postclassic should need no introduction. By my reckoning the original new music blogger, and still showing us how it’s done.

2 thoughts on “Thinking Blogs

  1. Thanks for the tag, but Matthew Guerierri beat you to it. Should I do a second list or consider my first list to have a double tag?

Leave a Reply

