2012 Kranichsteiner Musikpreis winners announced

Congratulation to the winners of this year’s Kranichsteiner Musikpreis, awarded last night at the closing concert of the 2012 Darmstadt Summer School: Johannes Kreidler (composition) and Ensemble Dal Niente.

In addition, Förderpreise stipends were awarded to the following:

For composition: Patricia Alessandrini (USA), Ashley Fure (USA), Jagoda Szmytka (Poland), Wojciech Blecharz (Poland), Evan Johnson (USA).

For interpretation: Patrick Stadler (saxophone/Germany), Heloisa Amaral (piano/Brazil), Vladislav Pesin (violin/Russia), Brian Archinal (percussion/USA), and the Mivos Quartet (New York).

I am of course pleased to see two Polish composers on that list, and personally delighted for Evan Johnson, a regular visitor to these pages and profiled here in 2010.

(N.B. Post updated, due to me mixing up the Kranichsteiner prize proper and the Förder stipends.)


One thought on “2012 Kranichsteiner Musikpreis winners announced

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s