We Break Strings Kickstarter campaign

Earlier in the summer I was approached by the writer Thom Andrewes to be one of a number of interviewees for a new book on London’s alternative classical music scene, to be published to mark the 10th anniversary of Nonclassical.

It was fun to do, and the book, called We Break Strings, includes some terrific photos by Dimitri Djuric. (There’s one of them above.) It’s due to come out later this autumn. I’ve aired some differences of opinion with Gabriel Prokofiev here recently, but I’m all for musical diversity and was there at some of the very first NonC gigs. And as a record of a moment, of a short and exciting and rapidly changing time, I believe this will be a fascinating and valuable book.

Anyway, there’s a Kickstarter campaign to get the final printing costs together to produce what is promised to be a high quality tome, of the sort that is commonplace for the visual arts but all too rare for music. You can back it here for the next four weeks.

The book will be launched in October, accompanied by a week-long exhibition and residency at the Red Gallery in Shoreditch from 20th October. I’ll be there on the 23rd as part of a pre-concert panel discussion. More details on that to follow nearer the time.

6 thoughts on “We Break Strings Kickstarter campaign

  1. Sounds promising🙂 Well I am going to wait for this book and I am sure everybody around the world who is in love with music and diversity will be interested. Thanks for sharing this, glad reading🙂

  2. I like what you guys are up also. Such smart work and reporting! Keep up the superb works guys I have incorporated you guys to my blogroll. I think it will improve the value of my website🙂

Leave a Reply

