Siemens Prize 2017


Congratulations to the three recipients of the 2017 Ernst von Siemens Composers’ Prize, Simon Steen-Andersen, Lisa Streich (pictured) and Michael Pelzel. Those paying attention will know of my fascination for Steen-Andersen’s madcap, altermodern take on musique concrète instrumentale – and that I probably talk about his Run-Time Error far too much. Streich’s delicately devastated soundworld has intrigued me ever since Alex Ross introduced her Pietà (1) for cello, motors and electronics (available to listen via the composer’s website). Pelzel’s name and music, meanwhile, is completely new to me, and I will be doing something to address that today. Here’s his homepage, for a start.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s